Day 1: Home

  
I first met these steps when they were an ugly dark brown.  We noticed a breathtaking mountain view and a panoramic ocean view before we entered the front door at the top of the stairs.  

All children learned to brave this steep incline. One of them rolled gracefully as we rushed to sibling’s soccer practice and I was faced with an expensive ER bill.  These steps gave them a sense of balance and surefootedness in their physical activities.

Forgetfulness forces me to work the gluteus as I tromp up and down up and down these almost perpendicular like stairs.  Grocery bags and babies (years back) upon my hip are like weights to promote a full body workout. How many times I wonder I’ve walked these steps? Almost 14 years not counting the inside stairs!  

This is home.

Leave a Reply

