Light

March 1: Light

Light. I’ve found that light is very important in photos. I need to be mindful of where the sun is, what time of day it is, and how to control the light in the settings of my camera. Still learning~still learning. Sometimes light can be the culprit of a bad photo and sometimes it is the prime essence of it.
It’s interesting that this machine is able to control light settings.

I am always drawn to a sunny morning. I love to sit on a chair in my patio and soak in the warmth while the inside of the house is chilly from the dark and early morning hours. The tiles in the kitchen nip at my toes and I can sun them as the sun rises in front of me. My doggy is chasing the neighbor’s cat and the birds are waking up to the orange circle peeking through the forest trees. It is a peaceful time to gather my thoughts and pray in devotion to the Lord before the day begins.

The shot above is one of my favorite ways of capturing the sun. I love photos with the sun rays branching out of its core. Rather than facing my lens straight into the sun, I found that looking through foliage or trees and through the little square window of my camera was key to achieving this effect. The light is blocked but some light escapes through causing rays of sunlight in front of a natural backdrop.

Light is very strong and powerful. It is persistent and it will find a way to get through even the most smallest crack in a wall. If your curtain is not tacked to the wall, the morning sun still forces its way through the little sliver opening between window and curtain well into into a dark room.

What about light in a human being? Are you able to tell when someone is filled with light? Can you see behind the light in their eyes? Is it just light upon the surface or is it light coming from within? Is the light in a person so powerful that you cannot tell that there is darkness beneath or that there was darkness? Sometimes one needs to let the light control the darkness. The light is powerful enough to smother the darkness. Choose to let light in and the darkness shall flee.

“The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.”-John 1:5

20140301-094613.jpg
Love and Blessings Always~
Mrs Halpern

Leave a Reply

