Accessorize Your Attitude

8-30-13

Day 30: A Beautiful Mess 30 Day Self Portrait Challenge

Title: Blue Lids

20130830-122354.jpg
I’m not a make-up artist but I did learn the basics in a modeling class twice. Once when I was 13 years old at Kaniu Kinimaka’s Modeling Agency and then again at 29 years old at Susan Page Modeling.

It was an exciting outlet for me and I’m really glad I did it! Of course it was a great opportunity to continue on my journey to be a print ad model but my heart was at my current job at the time as a preschool teacher and mother of two. With both children in extra curricular activities, I was still trying to figure out how even part time modeling was gonna fit in my calendar.

It was rather expensive to be glamorous. I found myself trying to keep up by purchasing the latest anti-aging products and trendy make-up, purchasing accessories and shoes to go with different outfits, and lusting after expensive bags. After we became a family of six, it was time to make a lifestyle change.

I made a choice to look for clothes that were made to be versatile. Meaning something that can be worn at work, at the grocery store, and out to dinner. I have my favorites:
jeans with a t-shirt
Sundresses
Skirts
Wedges
Slippers
Boots
Jackets
Fresh flowers behind the ear
Bang clips

I quickly learned that I could still be glamorous with just the basics. Furthermore, I can get away with these looks in Hawaii. I’m thankful that I’m not held captive to the changing of seasons. While weather and temperature does change sporadically and depending on where I’m at on the Big Island, there are lots of opportunities to change up the basic wardrobe.

A dinner date with my husband, friends, dinner functions, and culinary functions with Casey gives me lots of opportunities to dress up and be glamorous. And even my meaning of being glamorous is still pretty casual. I shy away from accessories. I don’t wear earrings, bracelets, or bangles and I think that has helped my budget. I guess my definition of glamour is a pretty dress, some heels, and some extra make-up on my face and sometimes a flower behind my ear.

With my busy schedule and tending to children, I really don’t have the time to be made up every single day. However I did find a way to apply make-up in less than 10 minutes.

The 10minute Make-Up Routine
1) Curl Lashes
2) Apply liquid foundation
3) Line eyes with eyeliner
If I want to add color, I take an angle tip shadow brush, dip it into my favorite color and brush it along the eyeliner
4)Apply mascara
5)Color in brows
6)Apply blush and highlighter
7)Line lips
Apply lipstick
Apply lip gloss and blot

And I’m done!

When I run out of blush, I stain my cheeks with lipstick and blend. The color on my brows are shaded with eye shadow using my angle tipped shadow brush.

On days where I’m at home and nothing’s going on but laundry or for a trip to the beach, I go for the undone face with a lip moisturizer. If I have to make a brief trip to the store, I have to have lipstick or lip gloss on.

I don’t need a fancy make-up basket. I remember my purple Caboodles tackle box was one of my favorite things. But now I have everything I need in a little plastic flower basket with the brushes standing up in a small jam jar. Our limited bathroom space and no vanity main bedroom takes me to the kitchen table with sufficient lighting to apply my make-up.

20130830-123202.jpg

Make-up Favorites: Lancôme Teint Miracle in Suede, Maybelline Unstoppable in Onyx, Lancôme Color Design 400 Fashion Capital, Maybelline New York Great Lash LOL Mascara in Blackest Black, Lancôme Blush Subtil Palette in Plum Elegance, and I’ve already mentioned my lip favorites.

20130830-123312.jpg
Make-up does wonders in maintaining a flawless look and coverage by covering up blemishes, age spots, and wrinkles. But one thing that make up doesn’t cover up is a bad attitude. A pretty face perfectly done melts away when the parts of the heart is revealed in ones attitude. Smiling is good too, but does my smile match with what I’m feeling inside?

So don’t just smile. Put on love to go with it. In everything that you do, put on love. Love is not only meant for marriage, friendship, and relationships. It is also what you put into your work. Accessorize your attitude with love.

Colossians 3:12-14
12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13 Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. 14 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

Source: http://www.biblegateway.com

Copyright 2013 Myra Halpern
All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

