Puppy Priorities

8-19-13
Day 19: A Beautiful Mess 30 Day Self Portrait Challenge

Title: Out the Door and Down the Stairs

20130820-084411.jpg

Puppy Priorities

Warning: Might have gross content-maybe don’t read while eating 😛

8-16-13
Friday
Casey’s co-worker/friend, and also the one who gifted us with our pup, came by yesterday to administer the parvovirus vaccine. Lily got comfortable on her former owner’s lap, he gave her the shot, and she didn’t even yelp or wince from pain. What a brave little Lily!

That evening, she began to experience the side effects accompanied by the shot or so I thought. Wow! This former preschool teacher and mother of four children was taken aback and dizzied by the noxious fumes and omelette matter of bodily fluids. (gag) How I managed to keep dinner down (I do not know)! I had Urban do some of it but then I ended up gagging from hearing him gag. The twins tried so hard to help which I was thankful for but it sort of turned into a double job if you know what I mean. When Casey arrived home from work and Lily was still in her vaccine stupor, I glaringly passed the dirty job kit to him.

Dirty Job Kit
1 Portable Rubbermaid Container
Rubber Gloves
Role of toilet paper
Paper towels
Vinegar/Water Solution used as a disinfectant
Trash bag

8-17-13
Saturday
This morning, Lily woke up, went outside and….went back to sleep. I woke her up for her morning feeding which is a mixture of puppy feed, evaporated milk, water, & cottage cheese (suggested by her previous owner). She took a sniff and zig-zagged away into the other room and got sick. While her dry puppy feed soaked up the water and milk mixture, I tried to coax her into drinking some water. No interest. She made herself comfortable on the floor on a sheet beside the twins’ bed and went to sleep.

The twins, up and energetic and getting ready for their soccer game, tried to pet her awake. “She’s not feeling well, ” I said. “Give her some space and BE quiet,” I said through gritted teeth and a ‘one eyebrow raised’ look. There was no way that I could leave Lily home in her crate for about 2 hours. I sent the girls off with their coach/daddy while Urban and I monitored Lily.

I was really bummed out that I had thrown away the children’s old syringes for liquid oral medications. I really needed that so I could squirt a fair amount of water into the corner of her mouth. Kind of like how human newborns are fed breast milk when mommies encounter latching dilemmas and such. So I tried to pour some water into her mouth after I found a medicine cup in the cupboard. No interest.

Finally, after 15 hours from her last meal and drink, she lapped at the cup in split second intervals. I put the cup down and put her ceramic bowl in front of her as she proceeded to quench her thirst. Then I went into the kitchen to prepare another puppy mix. She still sat nicely behind me as her head cocked while she heard the pouring of milk and the clink of the spoon mixing the white and curdly liquid, and all the more twitching as she saw and heard the opening of her bag of puppy feed and the sound of me scooping up a 1/3cupful. She sat attentive before I asked her to sit and devoured her meal after I put it on the floor in front of her.

That evening:
She had two good meals. She vomited some of that first meal that I mentioned above and her stools were still liquidly exiting her rear. From about 11pm and past midnight till about 3am, she was exhibiting stomach virus symptoms. I believe when I didn’t catch her #2ing, she had eaten a part of it before I got to her. She was vomiting every little bit of food that was within her and continued to convulse like someone who’s had one too many shots of various types of hard liquor. Casey took the tail end of night watch while I slept a little. I awoke briefly to hear her lapping her water and thought “okay good…she’s drinking water.”

8-18-13
Sunday
When I woke up the next morning, there was a huge pool of ‘I don’t know what’ in the middle of the living room floor. It was a foul old wet band-aid kind of smell. I was actually fine that I didn’t have any breakfast that morning. The smells and pictures in my mind from Lily’s eliminations was still freshly consuming me.

Since it was Sunday, our vet was closed so we paid the $30 fee to talk to a vet. So he directed Casey to pick up chicken dinner baby food and Pepto Bismol. Casey did just that and he fed her the Pepto with a syringe and mixed the chicken with water.

She developed a stomach virus from eating something. The parvo shot could have lowered her immune system which in turn made her more prone to illness or infection. She also could have developed a bad allergic reaction to the shot.

Monday 8-19-13
After 4 doses of Pepto Bismol and 4 servings of watered down chicken dinner, Lily began to eliminate healthy looking poop. And I rejoiced loudly at her outdoor elimination and her awesome recovery. At the peak of her illness on Saturday night, I began thinking the worst and that we might lose our puppy. I put that worry away and just did what I had to do to overcome each step to bring Lily closer to recovery and wellness.

That evening:
Lily slept in her crate for the entire night.

She got up once to go outside at about 3:45am and we woke up at about 6:00. As I write this, she is sound asleep on the kitchen floor.

Another temporary trial. It always seems so difficult to deal with in the middle of it all but when you allow certain things to take its course in quiet trust in the Lord, the end result is always an incomprehensible miracle from our great God. It’s nice to have Lily up and energetic, feisty, and playful. Even the nips are okay-just kidding. Thank You Lord!

Psalm 30:5 King James Version (KJV) 5 For his anger endureth but a moment; in his favour is life: weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.

Copyright 2013 Myra Halpern
All Rights Reserved

Source:
http://www.vetstreet.com/care/parvovirus-vaccine-for-dogs

http://www.biblegateway.com

Up and Playful

20130820-085331.jpgx

One thought on “Puppy Priorities

  1. Pingback: Afternoon At The Park | mrshalpern's Blog

Leave a Reply

